New TV to watch for

Every season I get a little bit excited to see what new shows are premiering. Even though I don’t always get to see them as they come out, I know what I can look forward to.

I usually head to TVGuide.com to make my pick of new shows. Here’s what’s coming up that I’m looking forward to (note: all quotes are from TVGuide.com):

1. Selfie

Karen Gillan (Doctor Who) … star[s] in this modern spin on Pygmalion that takes place in today’s social media-driven world. Gillan’s Eliza Dooley[‘s] … constant Instagramming and Facebooking has left her devoid of any real friends — not to mention the social skills required to make any… Eliza hires marketer Henry Higenbottam (John Cho) to help her rebuild her image and put down her damn phone for once.

How could you not love another adaptation of Pygmalion? Eliza Doolittle is now Eliza Dooley, and Henry Higgins is now Henry Higenbottam. That’s enough for me to at least give this show a shot.

2. Scorpion

Scorpion is about a bunch of nerds who form a team to solve some of the world’s most complex problems. (It’s like if the Justice League of America traded their superpowers for supersmarts, computer wizardry and hacking skills.)

Anything that puts a bunch of super nerds in a team is already on good footing with me. The description from TV Guide has hooked me.

3. Jane the Virgin

Gina Rodriguez stars as a young woman named Jane, and Jane is a virgin! What more is there to know? Well, okay, there is the fact that she’s pregnant because she was accidentally artificially inseminated by her gynecologist. Whoops! And to make matters even more complicated, Jane has to decide whether or not to keep the baby after discovering the sperm specimen belonged to cancer survivor Rafael (Justin Baldoni), who’s not only a former crush of Jane’s, but also her new boss.

Need I say more?

4. Gotham

Described as the origin story of future Gotham police commissioner Jim Gordon, Gotham is Fox’s effort to get in on TV’s comic-book craze. … Gordon [is] a fresh-faced police detective whose life begins to change when he and his partner … start investigating the murder of the parents of none other than a young Bruce Wayne (David Mazouz)… [The show] also promises to tell the origin stories of several DC Comics’ villains, including Catwoman (Camren Bicondova), the Penguin (Robin Lord Taylor), and the Riddler (Cory Michael Smith).

If you’re telling me that the Batman world is back on the small screen, then I’ll be there. Even if it’s the worst thing ever. But I have a sneaking suspicion that this show is gonna be good. I haven’t seen Ben McKenzie in anything since The O.C. so let’s hope he’s grown up.

5. The Flash

[This] Arrow spin-off stars Grant Gustin as Barry Allen, who becomes the fastest man alive, aka The Flash, after an explosion at the S.T.A.R. Labs particle accelerator bestows him with superhuman speed. … The Flash is set in Central City, where Barry works as a forensic investigator and uses his special power to help fight crime.

I was never able to get into Arrow, so knowing this show is a spinoff may not work in my favour. Depsite that, I’m still going to check it out, because anything with the word ‘superhero’ in the description is automatically given fair go. I won’t even mention that the star of the show, Grant Guston, is mega cute.

6. Constantine

Constantine is based on the DC Comics series Hellblazer. Welsh actor Matt Ryan stars as the titular John Constantine, a seasoned demon hunter and master of the occult who abandoned his campaign against evil after failing to save a young girl’s soul from hell. However, he’s pulled back into the fight when the balance between good and evil somehow winds up on the line and an angel named Manny (Lost’s Harold Perrineau) tells him to man up and get his act together.

The last time I watched anything with this title was when Keanu Reeves starred in 2005. I’ve never really known the Constantine story, but I don’t think I have to to get enjoyment out of this show.

So that’s my list. There are loads of other shows of course, but these are the ones I’m hoping will be winners.

Leave a Reply

